Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: jong1064 ( )
Date: September 14, 2012 07:34PM

I remember the September 6 because I am a writer and I identified with them, thinking, "That could have been me.". I was reading in Wiki today that Maxine Hanks was rebaptised in Feb of 2012. Does anyone here know her story? Why would she choose to be rebaptised almost 10 years later? Just curious...

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: steve benson ( )
Date: September 14, 2012 07:53PM

We had a robust discussion on the reasoning and wisdom of it all. Suffice to say, we continue to have differing opinions but remain close friends and in occassional contact.

Maxine figured (correctly) that word would eventually leak out into the public realm regarding her re-baptism and therefore asked me not to talk on RfM about her plans to rejoin or about her eventual baptism, to which I agreed.

Maxine also asked that I not go on this site and detail her reasons for rejoining, since trolls here have hammered her, mercilessly and falsely, regarding her past and her present situation, and therefore she didn't want to subject herself to that kind of foul treatment again. I agreed to that, as well.

I still, however, affectionately call her "Elvira of Palymra." :)

Edited 8 time(s). Last edit at 09/14/2012 08:57PM by steve benson.

Posted by: jacob ( )
Date: September 14, 2012 07:55PM

Bravo Steve.

Date: September 14, 2012 08:00PM

I respect your loyalty, Steve, but her rejoining the Morg seems like a betrayal of all she stood for. The last thing I want is to cause her or anyone else anymore pain, but I think it would be helpful for me to understand where she's coming from.

Date: September 14, 2012 08:01PM

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/14/2012 08:02PM by steve benson.

Date: September 14, 2012 08:03PM