Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: jeff1009 ( )
Date: December 26, 2010 07:24PM

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this, but I'm just looking around.

Let me preface my story with this: Just like there are people who bash any religion, there are people who bash Mormons. I know the difference between ignorant bashing and legitimate discussion. I know what, for the most part, the church teaches on doctrinal points. I don't need or care for idiotic comments or nonsense - I'll correct someone who misrepresents what LDS people believe the same as I would for Baptist beliefs, or Catholic ones.

So to me. Short version. Dated a Mormon girl who wasn't particularly stout in her beliefs. She got me interested. I studied for months, some of the basic doctrines made more sense than I had given them credit. Started thinking. Decided to try it. The more I investigated and the more I participated the happier I was. The people, generally, are nice. The church has an excellent face and, regardless of anything else, they DO do good things for people, at least in some places and situations.