Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: sparty ( )
Date: February 07, 2013 09:25PM

I was out on a drive today and thinking back on my college experience - specifically, how happy I am that I didn't end up sucked into BYU after joining the church my first year of college. I enjoy the relationship that I have with my alma mater - I have fond memories of my time there, am a member of the alumni association, and feel genuinely connected to the university. I feel like the university has made a very sincere effort to reach out to me after I graduated (partly for money, obviously, but also to encourage me to take advantage of services that it offers alums like career networking, etc)

After you cut ties with the church, did that affect your relationship with BYU? I know that reading threads on the topic, a lot of you are ashamed of your degree because it ties you to LDS, Inc., but does BYU still try to reach out to you to keep you engaged (especially given the rule that a Never-Mo can attend BYU, but an Ex-Mo cannot)? I know that many of you feel that you don't view your degree in the most positive light, but is it a mutual feeling between you and the Lord's University?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: The Oncoming Storm - bc ( )
Date: February 07, 2013 09:31PM

I kinda hated BYU even as a believer. My computer science program sucked and most of the professors were horrible.

The math professors and many of the other elective professors were equally awful.

Many of the religion teachers were even worse - one semester we had a librarian teaching the class because there weren't enough religion teachers. A couple were good - Joseph McKonkie was fascinating if whacked.