Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Eddie Jr ( )
Date: June 05, 2013 07:21AM

Anyone remember this piece of propaganda trash?

This was used to instill fear in me of the "latter days" when god is going to kill everyone except those who never fondle themselves.

When is this supposed to happen? What will happen to the Quakers on the moon? What circle of Hell is Joe Smith residing in?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Becca ( )
Date: June 05, 2013 07:31AM

I am still learning to stand up for myself. ..

Posted by: Greyfort ( )
Date: June 05, 2013 07:36AM

Yeah, I'm really angry about that control-by-fear bit now. During one of my year-long inactive periods, I had a dream where Jesus' Second Coming happened and I asked him where I should go, where I should stand, etc.

He looked me in the eye and said, "You're not coming with me. I'm not taking you."

Then I had a vision of my burned body on a field.

It was horrible. I woke up with tears on my face and for a brief moment in time, I knew what real hopelessness felt like. Needless to say, I headed straight back to church.

My first period of inactivity happened only a year after I'd joined the Church. I should have stayed away then, instead of putting myself through 30 years of it.

I'm sure that's how churches get some people to join as well. They think, "What if they're right and I get left behind?"

I hate religion. I really do.

Posted by: anagrammy ( )
Date: June 05, 2013 06:57PM

Posted by: Iwhisper ( )
Date: June 05, 2013 07:39AM

Both my husband, also an exmo,and I remember this vividly. As children we lived in fear of this. On those occasions when the moon had an orange hue, we were terrified that "the end" was near. It caused in us extreme anxiety and fear that continued into adulthood.

As I think back, I realize how cruel it is to scare children in this way.

Posted by: tapirsaddle ( )