Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Infinite Dreams ( )
Date: July 13, 2013 01:41PM

This has bothered me for a very long time. I still see it a lot, even in my own immediate extended family. The men will have MAs or more, & the women will have nothing. Only a few women (4) in my family are even college graduates. 2 of us (myself & a younger married cousin) are trying to graduate.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: stillburned ( )
Date: July 13, 2013 02:15PM

I'm a never-Mo with multiple graduate degrees. Can't get DW (BIC but inactive) to get an education to save my life. That bothers me. Could be Mormonism, but I think maybe she just likes it.

Posted by: rainwriter ( )
Date: July 13, 2013 03:04PM

I have a friend who has said that she just plain doesn't want to go to college. She took a car seat tech training, but she doesn't want to go to school and take classes and tests and actually learn something in that environment.

Date: July 13, 2013 03:06PM

I meant any kind of education or training - including tech, professional, secretarial, etc.

Posted by: stillburned ( )
Date: July 13, 2013 07:44PM

Yeah, that's what I meant, too.

Posted by: saintdorothymantooth ( )
Date: July 13, 2013 03:22PM

This site makes me see more and more how different my TBM family really is/was. My grandmother was a college grad, so was my mom. 2 sisters are, including one who just finished her doctorate. Now, if only I could get them to educate themselves on their own church doctrine ::sigh::

Date: July 13, 2013 03:26PM

My BIC TBM great grandfsther & great grandmother were high school & nunior college educators. So I understand where you're coming from.

Posted by: DishyDoodle ( )
Date: July 13, 2013 07:57PM

Were your families living in Utah?