Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: anon for this ( )
Date: July 24, 2013 04:48PM

Frequent poster here. Going anon so this dude doesn't figure out my handle if he were to look...

Hey, *******

I also saw that article in the New York Times that you posted a little while ago. I also like John Dehlin and I frequent the "mormon stories" podcast now and then. I think it is important to be both intellectually and spiritually honest with myself. I have a degree in biology and have studied evolution and other topics in science with rigor and enthusiasm. I love the gospel as revealed in mormonism, but I have an issue with church culture and presentation of church history.

I think it's silly that a lot of members don't know that Joseph Smith was a polygamist and would be offended by it, yet are perfectly fine accepting Brigham Young (notoriously a polygamist) as a prophet - as well as Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. I was pleased to see the removal of the word "the" in the introduction of the Book of Mormon: "It is a record of God’s dealings with [the] ancient inhabitants of the Americas".

There have been other steps that I have noticed that show progression toward intellectual honesty. I think we (the church) need to teach the truth, admits faults, and make information readily available to questioning members.

Anyway, the reason I am writing this is because I saw this article and I agree with much of what is said. I'm not sure where you stand with the church, but I thought you might enjoy it as well. I thought I should "introduce" my position a little so you know my intentions are not to chastise, convert, or bring you back; rather, I understand some of your reasons for leaving. Please, don't feel a need to explain your position to me, I'm not prying. I just thought of you when I read this because you had posted about that NYT article.