Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: thecurtman ( )
Date: September 04, 2012 04:05PM

My story started some thirty plus years ago. As a child, my grandmother always forced us to go to church, especially Sunday School. As a foster-child my foster parents did the same thing. I decided that when I became eighteen years of age, I wasn’t going to go to church every Sunday, but every other Sunday. When I became eighteen, I held true to my word, I went to church every other Sunday. I managed that for a whole month.
Then one day, while on my way home from work, I was approached by two Latter Day Saints. A discussion broke out and we started talking about church. It was at that time that I realized that I haven’t been to church in over five years, totally unacceptable. So I started studying with the Missionaries. I knew absolutely nothing about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. But hey, look at the title, how bad could the church be?
Shortly after the studying, I joined the church. One day while sitting at work studying my scriptures, I was approached by a gentleman who noticed the Book of Mormon on my desk. He asked me if I was a Mormon, I answered ‘yes’. We became engaged in a conversation where he challenged me to do my homework and to discover for myself some of the things that Mormons believed in. I was young, I was stupid, and a challenged was on the table, of course I was going to take it. He asked me if I was serious about the taking the challenge, ‘yes’, so he goes in his briefcase and come out with a book. “Read this, and remember, do your own homework. The book was call, ‘Reasoning from the Scriptures with the Mormons ‘by Ron Rhodes and Marian Bodine.