Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Amelie ( )
Date: September 21, 2013 06:24PM

Hi
This is my first time posting.I left the church when I was 17 after being in it all my life...my mother had left the previous year and I had stayed as I think I had to as my father had never joined the church and then my mother had left I had been told that we would not be together in the next life. I think I thought if I stayed in the church and was a good little Mormon It would somehow make a difference ....I have always felt full of guilt since leaving the church due to inappropriate advance from a member of the bishopric (then in charge of the young women) towards me at the age of 17..I suffer terrible anxiety and have never been able to be involved intimately with anyone despite being in a relationship for 4years which broke up 2years ago.my college life has been on a go slow and I find it hard to pass exams.....sometimes I feel like I am being punished. I feel numb most days and when I do feel anything it is just terrible guilt and feeling like a huge failure...I look around and see all my friends in work with so much confidence in there body image and how they look and look at myself who feels so awkward and ashamed of my body.
I don't know what to do but I just feel numb all the time and can't see any way out .i feel like I'm just wasting away my life waiting for punishments for leaving the church.
Has anyone ever felt this way particularly with sex.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Taddlywog ( )
Date: September 21, 2013 06:46PM

I was molested by the previous bishop when I was 14. My parents stayed TBM -but I moved out when I was 17 and put myself through college as I slowly dated returned missionaries and then moved on to non members. I got married when I was 21 to a catholic from NJ.