Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: hausfrau ( )
Date: August 19, 2014 05:01PM

I happened on this gem while scrolling down my Facebook feed. I think that this pretty much seals the deal of not bringing up seminary as an option to my children. Now, there's nothing wrong with higher standards and checking on understanding. I graduated from Seminary and Institute and the new requirements aren't much more than what was expected 13 years ago. The only huge difference is the focus on Preach My Gospel in seminary. But, I think by reading the article and the Facebook comments made me see how much of an outsider and non-believer I really am now.

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865608817/Elevate-learning-taking-seminary-to-a-higher-level.html?pg=all

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: redfeather ( )
Date: August 19, 2014 05:31PM

Hopefully this will lead to some kids getting sick of it all and leaving. More likely it'll just feed into their martyr complex.

Posted by: BYUboner ( )
Date: August 19, 2014 05:44PM

Sounds like the kids are going to get even more pure bullshit! Hopefully, a lot will question since they're supposedly responsible for their own testimony. Thanks for the info! Boner.

Date: August 19, 2014 07:11PM

Posted by: sd allison ( )
Date: August 19, 2014 05:45PM

Looks like dishonesty is going to go up, graduations go down, or both.

Date: August 19, 2014 07:11PM