Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Roger ( )
Date: November 29, 2014 10:20AM

Disclaimer: I'm asking this on an EX-Mormon board because I find that often times, former members know more about the church than it's current members. I assume many of you would agree, followed by a sigh.

I'm a college student writing a paper on the LDS Church and their public image for my world religions class. I want to include an excerpt on a celebrity LDS member, but wanted to make sure and include one who is (as you guys would call it) a TBM. I was thinking Mitt Romney as an obvious choice, but many here have shared their sentiments that he is far from a TBM, judging off of his political career. Donny Osmond maybe? Not serving a mission hurts. How about Shawn Bradley? Like most LDS athletes, he worked on Sundays.

Any recommendations? Thanks guys!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Tom Padley ( )
Date: November 29, 2014 10:29AM

Steve Young is obvious because he's descended from Brigham.

Posted by: reawakening ( )
Date: November 29, 2014 10:34AM

David arculeta

Posted by: CA girl ( )
Date: November 29, 2014 10:49AM

Here is a link you could check but it doesn't tell who is TBM. http://www.famousmormons.net/

For example, I wouldn't consider any of the actors listed TBM, nor are the Johnson brothers (Bart Johnson/High School Musical) who aren't listed.