Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: goodeye ( )
Date: September 05, 2015 02:21PM

I want and plan on doing it tomorrow as I plan on outing my belief of TSCC by the end of the month.

Currently I'm a Sunday School teacher to the 14-18 year olds (yeah the other teacher left the church and they slammed me with both classes kinda ironic)l I told the bishop months ago it was too much for me to teach both classes day in and day out. It took them months to call another teacher that we could swap teaching every other Sunday.

I have had my lessons very bland, if I can teach and not reference the BOM at all I do it, otherwise I just make up my own lesson that day.

However, I want to ask to be released before I out my feelings on the church to my wife at the end of the month. I don't plan on doing it any sooner and I know the bishop will likely push me for more info as to why.

Anyone else done this, and if so how did you go about it? Any advice on how to go about this? How to respond to the bishop if he pushes me for more info? Gotta admit when it comes to the church I'm not good with conflict.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Anonymous User ( )
Date: September 05, 2015 02:24PM

Don't explain, don't complain.
the End

Posted by: dogeatdog ( )
Date: September 05, 2015 02:34PM

We moved and I specifically asked not to be given a calling.

Date: September 05, 2015 02:34PM

Oh if it be so easy for me. Our lease is up next month but we are renewing. Don't feel like moving after we just did last year.

Posted by: gemini ( )
Date: September 05, 2015 02:55PM

You are in a voluntary position. Do not "ask" to be released. Tell bishop you cannot do it anymore, turn in your lesson materials and be done. What he has to do to replace you is his problem, not yours. I guess I am just so done with anything mormon that this does not seem like a dilemma.