Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: angela ( )
Date: October 21, 2015 09:26PM

For those Mormons who lurk, and those who are officially assigned by LDS, Inc. to monitor this website.

I just thought you should know. You teach that bearing your testimony actually is a powerful convincing or converting tool, perhaps because you believe that the Holy Ghost will confirm the testimony. At least that was what I was taught when I was LDS.

Reality Check: It's a fruitless technique. It doesn't work. If it were, you would have far more convert baptisms than you do. Which we all know, you don't.

Haven't you figured that out yet?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: baura ( )
Date: October 21, 2015 10:21PM

When the Fox special about how we really didn't go to the moon
aired, I was a physics graduate student and was fascinated how
it was their ignorance of physics that was behind so much of
their "proofs." Things which would be EXPECTED on the moon were
shown as evidence that it was faked on earth. Some real
howlers. A good physics class would be to show the program and
then discuss the physics that is so misapplied by the conspiracy
nuts.

But one thing did strike me. At one point in the program the
conspiracy nuts bore their testimony. They spoke about how
totally they were convinced that the U.S. never went to the
moon--how completely they KNEW it, as if that was anything other
than a statement about THEM.

Posted by: brandywine ( )
Date: October 21, 2015 10:24PM

It's a good tactic to use if you like watching people roll their eyes and shut the door on you. ;)

Posted by: Blakballoon ( )
Date: October 21, 2015 11:34PM