Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: oneinbillions ( )
Date: July 15, 2016 10:16PM

Living here in Utah I occasionally get people -- usually coworkers -- who just automatically assume that I must be Mormon. I don't know why; maybe they heard somewhere that my parents are Mormon, or maybe it's just my appearance or the fact that I still choose not to drink or smoke or do drugs. Or that I graduated from BYU. Whatever it is, at least 3 or 4 times in the past decade I've had someone just assume that I must be Mormon and talk to me as such. A few even asked where I went on my "mission," which really aggravates me.

Even worse is when I come out and tell them I'm an atheist, because we're like the devil incarnate to many heavily religious people. The looks of horror and disgust I got in those scenarios still haunt me. I know it's THEIR problem and I'm perfectly happy with my religion, or lack thereof, but still. I think it's part of why I'm so secluded nowadays -- I never go out because I don't even want to run the chance of meeting some hyperactive Mormon who really only wants to "save" me. It bothers me a great deal. I just want normal friendship, without constantly getting invited to church or other LDS-centric activities. I feel like the vast majority of Mormons I've met in my lifetime simply aren't capable of being friends thanks to that "every member a missionary" bullshit. I'm sure that there must be nice people somewhere in this state who won't smother me with their imaginary crap, but I don't know how to find them.

Just wondering.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: randyj ( )
Date: July 15, 2016 10:22PM

...but I've had people tell me that they thought I was a preacher. I just have that middle-aged look, I guess.