Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: scg73 ( )
Date: June 22, 2017 10:09PM

Through most of my adolescence I thought missionaries were the nicest people within the church. I thought at the time that if more members could be more like the missionaries then the church would be a nicer place. That perception changed when as an Aaronic priest I did one of those mini missions & the missionary I was assigned to I thought was one of the biggest jerks I'd met. Was anyone else's perception of missionaries altered by becoming an insider?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: baura ( )
Date: June 22, 2017 11:19PM

Years ago I lived in a special house near a university campus
where I was a freshman. It was only for RM's and "prospective
M's." I was one of the prospective M's. I noticed to my
surprise that the RM's were MUCH jerkier than the prospective
M's. This was a surprise because I, in my young naive
Mormonhood, thought that spending two years serving Jesus would
make you MORE Christlike, not less.

That was one of the reasons I decided against a mission.

Posted by: messygoop ( )
Date: June 23, 2017 12:59AM

First, there are some nice ones. However, the bureaucracy of the organization creates a system of power. The assholes aspire power and they ascend to the top. Woe to anyone that gets in their way! They easily fill most of the leadership positions. Nice ones are somewhat looked down as schmucks and losers. I had a few kind and meek types, but they were perceived as "weak" as promptly released and replaced.

I had a lot of mid week phone calls that announced a change in leadership. "Hey Elder Goop! This is Elder Dickwad. I'm your new ZL. I am driving to your apartment at 9pm tonight to go over your area book so you better get your butts back to the apartment because I don't like to be waiting."