Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: guy2 ( )
Date: August 22, 2017 07:23PM

Came out last month as a non-believer. Have had 2 drinks of alcohol since then. My wife is worried of having booze in the house and of my becoming an alcoholic. IN her defense I have an extremly addictive personality. When studying for the passing the law bar I was upwards of 4 liters of diet mountain dew a day.

Also, I am a criminal attorney and I see everyday the damage of alcohol. I recognize that not everyone who drinks becomes an alcoholic. But given my profession it seems that everyone is either an alcoholic, so even as a non-believer I am cautious.

I have a few rules, I only drink on friday/saturday night after kids are down, and only in my own home. And I only drink a verry moderate amount. I have seen too many DUIs to ever drink socially, plus I don't want it to drink behind my TBM wife..

What other tips to you guys have to a new drinker?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Cpete ( )
Date: August 22, 2017 07:28PM

H20

Posted by: jacob ( )
Date: August 22, 2017 07:33PM

It's ok to be a bit uppity about your drinking. Try and pair the right drink with the right meal. Say no to swill, if you don't like it don't finish it. Beer is not soda. Organic liquor is extraordinary, stuff like tequila becomes top shelf when you go organic.

Oh, and you should have a beer with your burger and red wine with your steak. And you should have a shot of bourbon at a dive bar.

Posted by: anonculus ( )
Date: August 22, 2017 07:44PM

Good call drinking at home. If you learn to mix your own cocktails you can do it better than most commercial bars (fresh juices and ingredients, no corner cutting, etc.)

Date: August 22, 2017 07:47PM