Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: AnonforThisOne ( )
Date: July 16, 2018 10:23PM

Okay, so I have been dating the same guy for 10 ten years now. We're best friends and get along great...except for when we don't.

I'm a professor now, and when we met, I was a senior in college, so we have come a lot way together. Unfortunately, he has not worked full-time in about four years. He has tried, though not as hard as he could, to find work, but without a license (he lost it due to unpaid tickets) and with a criminal history (he has an old assault charge), he found it nearly impossible.

He has gone back to school, but, other than when he gets a loan check, he has no money and nothing to contribute financially. He does do a lot of things though, like going to get stuff from the store, etc.

I get irritated because I have to buy him everything. And, if I want to get something to eat, like a sandwich or something, he always wants and pretty much expects one too. He doesn't even really ask. He just assumes it's fine.

I have told him a couple of times that he shouldn't always do this, that maybe he should try and eat cheaper things from the grocery store, etc. I feel bad about this, but then I get irritated all over again. The other day, he even wanted to use money to play in an arcade.

Anyway, I blew up at him recently over all this stuff and how he just takes and takes and now he's disappeared for going on four days. WHen he does this, I think he literally wonders the streets. He told me before he took off, which he did with no warning, that he "doesn't want to be a burden." He did this once before for a month, and it killed me and his family with worry.