Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: JadeDuck ( )
Date: October 02, 2019 11:56PM

Hi all!

I'm new here (and to not being a die-hard Mormon), and I've been really struggling with feeling alone. I'm posting my experience in hopes that I won't feel so alone in it anymore. I don't really have anyone to share this stuff with that really gets it.

I grew up with divorced parents (non-Mormon mom and Mormon dad). They had 50/50 custody, so I spent equal time with both of them, although I favored my dad. I adopted Mormonism as a way to be close to him, but also to cope with the idea of my broken family (the promise of an eternal family and Heavenly Parents was all my little heart wanted). I went to church every other week (when I was with my dad), did the same for seminary. I graduated seminary with a lot of makeup classes, got my YW Medallion twice, Honor Bee once, and my Faith in God award. However, since I was only half there, I was always kind of on the outskirts of everything socially. I really just wanted to belong.

I took everything a bit to the extreme. Shorts above the knee weren't okay, so I only wore pants and maxi skirts. I learned everything there ever was to know about the doctrine, and it's all I knew how to talk about at school (where I was almost always the only Mormon around). I made a plan when I was twelve that had me having kids every two years from when I was 21-35. I was Mormon to the max.