Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: T-Bone ( )
Date: December 26, 2023 12:43AM

When I was in law school, I was an intern at a big city prosecutor's office. We saw the worst of society.

I won't bury the lead. One HUGE mistake I saw was people setting themselves up to be victims over the holidays.

Dec 24
Got all the whole family together for Christmas
(Photo)

Dec 25
Got a new big screen TV and a Playstation for Christmas!
(Photos of all the expensive gifts)

Dec 26
On our way to the Bahamas for a week. See you next year!
(Photo of a smiling family in front of their home with the address in the background)

Jan 3
Just finished the police report. Our house was robbed while we were away. TV, Playstation, everything. Gone!

When you see it in black and white, it's obvious. But believe me, it's not obvious to MANY people. Social media can be used by criminals to find easy victims. I don't really use social media, but I certainly don't post in real time. When I travelled a lot for business, I'd post pictures a few days after I got home. (Just got back from Thailand. The food was amazing.)

There were even darker stories of kidnapping victims. Parents love to gush about their children and all the things they love to do, their favorite toys, favorite movies, and other things that can be used by predators to lure children away.

When I was a new father, one of the biggest arguments we had at home was about posting details of our daughter online. I was 100% against it. My ex didn't see the harm. And our friends would use our daughter's name. I'd delete those posts. Maybe I'm paranoid, but I'll never regret being overly cautious.

I live in Tokyo. It's one of the safest cities in the world. I still lock my door when I take out the garbage and check the mailbox.

But be careful out there.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/26/2023 12:45AM by T-Bone.