Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Not A Scientist (but need one) ( )
Date: September 27, 2010 01:18PM

I am not a scientist, but at moments like this I wish I were. Are there any scientists or science-hobbiests who could help me with some claims coming out of Salt Lake City, Utah?

"ASEA: Advancing Life" is a "dietary supplement" that looks to be, from my untrained mind, nothing more than water and salt, except that it comes with a price tag of $150 for 4 32fl. oz. bottles. The marketing scheme is MLM. Like the Book of Mormon, it comes with a story and a series of claims, of course. Here's the claim on the bottle:

"ASEA is a proprietary blend of naturally occuring reactive molecules derived from a patented redox balanced process. The unique process rearranges the constituent components into a beneficial mixture that is critical to proper balanced cellular chemistry, enabling the immune system to funciton at its optimal level."

The ingredients are listed exactly as follows: Distilled Water, Sodium Chloride.

My question is, is it possible to "rearrange the constituent components" --H2O and NaCl-- to make a more "beneficial mixture"? Am I missing something? Or is this as obviously silly as Kolub behind the Sun?

What's facinating is the salesman. My guy is a RM, middle-aged lawyer with too many kids and not enough clients. His pitch is perfect, bearing down with a quick intelligence and a gregarious personality. But his sales training is bare none the best in the world. If you can go door to door in a foreign country selling a book and a story for %10 of your life's income then selling reconstituted salt water for $1.17 an oz is easy-peasy.

Am I missing something?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: SusieQ#1 ( )
Date: September 27, 2010 01:21PM

Posted by: Troy ( )
Date: September 27, 2010 01:31PM