Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Anonforthis ( )
Date: December 07, 2010 03:21PM

A little background: I have been married for just over 5 years, but have been with my husband for almost 10 years. He is nevermo, and we started dating around the time I was finally out of the house and finally coming to terms with not believing.

We have never had any really big fights, and I would say we generally have a pretty good marriage. However, we are getting to the point where real life is stepping in and the day-to-day drudgery is getting us down. I guess there is just not much excitement anymore.

I really have had no real issues with this up until last week, (just figure that's how it goes). My profession is very male-dominated, so most of my co-workers and basically all of the consultants we work with are male. I have met some very great people and some are very good friends, but aside from a little joking around, it is strictly professional.

The last couple months I have been working on a project with a few people from around the country and 2 in Canada. Last week I was sent to a conference where the guy I have been interacting with the most (through email and phone calls) was also going. Since I like to have a face to put with a name, we arranged a time to meet up.

On the last day of the conference, we met in a lounge area set up off one of the larger corridors. We exchanged the usual pleasantries, then got out our laptops and started talking about the project. After half an hour or so, he said he wanted to go dump his laptop and things in his room and wander around the city. Since he didn't really know anyone else at the conference, he asked if I would like to join him for an hour or so.