Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Jesus Smith ( )
Date: May 27, 2012 08:03PM

I already posted some of this, but I think some of you might have the patience to check out this video if you haven't. It's a lecture by Lawrence Krauss entitled: 'A Universe From Nothing'

I have the ebook and am finishing it now. He's a great orator and writer, as well as a damn fine Physicist/Cosmologist.

http://youtu.be/7ImvlS8PLIo?t=2m7s

Summary:

(Note, I am an experimental/applied physicist, so I could have the following wrong. We already had a heated discussion on the "nothing" Krauss uses, elsewhere.)

What was before the Big Bang?

What made the Big Bang, universe and us?

By measuring the background microwave radiation from the big bang, cosmologists can go back in time to the point at which the universe was so hot, the radiation can no longer be measured. This is like a wall, blocking off "visibility" of the universe's space-time center. They can look for the wall all around the universe in each direction and determine the distances from us to build a map of the geometry of the universe. This geometry gives us the curvature of the entire universe.

That curvature tells us a very important result: that the universe is flat. A flat universe started, at the big bang, with a net energy of zero.

Zero total energy means the universe probably, very likely, started from nothing (complete emptiness), except the random virtual events of quantum/particle/energy fluctuations (still at net zero energy) around the zero point. In other words, a universe didn't need a creator. And before the big bang, there was nothing. That nothing is exactly what is needed to start the big bang. We came from nothing.

Nothing is the essential ingredient to everything.