Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: markrichards ( )
Date: January 26, 2013 12:49PM

O.K., I get long winded. I studied Math/Electronics in College. I consider myself a 'fan' of history; rather than a historian or a social scientist. That being said, I found an old, very much out of print book that talked about the early days of moronism. It stated, in short, that blacks/negros/freedmen were full blown members of TSCC in their days in New York, Ohio.

When Joe Smith showed up in Missouri (then a slave state) with their 'freed' blacks, the local populous begun to grumble and say, "Here are those religious types, showing up with free blacks, they are a bunch of abolitionists." I know this is not an exact quote, I am telescoping several pages into one sentence.

Is there any 'truth' to TSCC's change on their attitude toward blacks? Did it always exist and Joe simply verbalized their attitude. I see no mention of the 'battle in heaven' or people sitting on the fence during a 'battle.' It would make sense to me that "Good ol' Joe" would conjure up a revelation to make TSCC more palatable to the local populous. Joe did it several times in Missouri, even going so far as to say downtown Kansas City was the original 'garden of eden.' I believe there is a branch of the moron church which still owns five acres of prime real estate for THE true temple to be built by the very hand of Jesus.

I am no longer a TBM, I just can't find any evidence prior to the Missouri days of any type of discrimination or full membership of blacks or mix race individuals. Am I off?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Can't Sign In Today ( )
Date: January 26, 2013 02:01PM

It is definitely true that there was a time before priesthood denial when blacks were not so marginalized. Joseph Smith ordained Elijah Abel an elder. He was later a 70.