Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: guilty ( )
Date: November 15, 2015 12:29AM

I am in the process of filling an opening at work, and as I was reviewing applications I immediately and instinctively recoiled when I saw that one applicant was a BYU graduate and thought "well, I can skip that one." Then my morality kicked in and I thought what the hell am I thinking?!!! I am a BYU graduate too! Now I'm not only terribly disappointed in myself, I am also terrified to think how future employers may view my own applications. Sure, this applicant could be a super annoying holier-than-thou morgbot, but they could just as easily be a jackmo, exmo, or chill mo. Sheesh. The last thing I want to be is a bigot just like "them!"

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Sharapata ( )
Date: November 15, 2015 12:37AM

As a BYU grad myself, I would suggest thinking back to your own days on campus and the people you met. They were not ALL self-righteous pr*cks, nor were they all even members of the Church (I actually met quite a few non-members). That is the problem with discrimination. We all make an assumption based on some arbitrary thing. People are people in every place and circumstance. BYU had jerks, a$$holes and pr*cks, but I also encountered some of the nicest and most genuine people in my life there, some with whom I am sorry to have lost contact. We shouldn't do the same things we criticize our TBM family and friends for doing, IMHO.

Posted by: dagny ( )
Date: November 15, 2015 12:58AM

You might get a great employee and you might not.

I am in the last years of my career but having BYU on my degree has been a constant embarrassment through the years.

I still do not like to risk being associated with Mormons, so I usually make a comment in jest that lets them know I'm not a weirdo (Hey, my parents made me go there!).