Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: bluebutterfly ( )
Date: March 27, 2023 11:52PM

I am a reading teacher at an elementary school and at the start of this school year my partner had to take a leave of absence. The person my district hired to take her spot temporarily has zero experience working in a school and is not a credentialed teacher. Why am I posting about this? She is also Mormon. TBM, Utah Mormon, to be exact. I'm in California. I don't say this to offend anyone, but Utah Mormons are monumentally different than California Mormons. She is strange to me. Plus, I overheard her teenage son tell her that he handed out a BOM to a kid at school because she was having a bad day. That might be normal in Utah, but definitely not here.
How did she even get hired? Well, she is friends with another teacher at my site who is TBM and this was a desperate situation. Ugh. I have a strong suspicion that we are being paid the same as well. Talk about making me feel devalued completely...the hoops you have to jump through to become a teacher are a lot. I've done them all. I am qualified, experienced, credentialed, and have a Master's degree. But that part is a whole other story.