Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Cafeteria Mormon ( )
Date: July 05, 2023 06:44PM

... no garmets.

After so many years in such status, i.e., being in but not all in, I think some members of my ward are starting to view me as somewhat of a phony, showing me a little less respect, being a little more distant. One thing I think that helps me retain some level of status in some of their eyes is that I hold a graduate degree in engineering, am more well read than most people, and have an income and personal assets well above the overwhelming majority of ward members.

I guess my point is, with all the membership hemorrhaging that is occurring with membership in California, and Sunday attendance about 60% of what it was about 20 years ago, it seems like they ought to be grateful that someone like me visits the chapel regularly and participates in various church activities.

I sort of feel like making an announcement, if the Bishopric, Stake President, and ward members start treating me too much like a second class citizen, then my reaction will be "Go Ahead, Make My Day", and you'll have one less middle aged healthy, honest, married heterosexual male as part of your congregation.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: unconventionalideas ( )
Date: July 05, 2023 06:49PM

One question I ask myself though is whether we’re spending our time doing the things with the highest priorities.

It’s a question I ask myself.

Not sure if you know or care about the many issues with the church.

For me, once I knew all of that, that was the end of attendance.

Period.

Everyone’s in a different place though, and I know it does has some social value to attend.

Posted by: blackcoatsdaughter ( )
Date: July 06, 2023 08:32AM